This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Armenia

Armenia is made up of 11 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Armenia. Information on all primary administrative regions in Armenia.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Armenia alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Armenia

There are 11 regions in Armenia in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Armenia
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Aragatsotn Province Aragatsotni Marz1.132,925Ashtarak Ashtarak18,779
Ararat Province Ararati Marz2.260,367Artashat Artashat20,562
Armavir Province Armaviri Marz3.265,770Armavir Armavir25,963
Gegharkunik Province Geghark’unik’i Marz4.235,075Gavarr Gavarr21,680
Kotayk Province Kotayk’i Marz5.254,397Hrazdan Hrazdan40,795
Lori Province Lorru Marz6.235,537Vanadzor Vanadzor101,098
Shirak Province Shiraki Marz7.251,941Gyumri Gyumri148,381
Syunik Province Syunik’i Marz8.141,771Kapan Kapan33,160
Tavush Province Tavushi Marz9.128,609Ijevan Ijevan14,737
Vayots Dzor Province Vayots’ Dzor10.52,846Yeghegnadzor Yeghegnadzor8,200
Yerevan Yerevan11.1,060,138Yerevan Yerevan1,093,485